The three Baltic countries stop importing Russian gas

The director of the Latvian natural gas storage operator reported on Saturday that the Baltic countries no longer import Russian natural gas.

“Since April 1, Russian natural gas no longer flows to Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania,” Uldis Bariss, CEO of Conexus Baltic Grid, said on the radio.

“If there were still doubts about whether there could be confidence in supplies from Russia, current events clearly show us that there is no longer confidence,” he added.

Bariss also said that the Baltic market was currently supplied by gas reserves stored in the underground of Latvia.

The move comes at a time when Russian President Vladimir Putin is trying to harness his country’s energy power.

Faced with the paralysis of the Russian economy due to international sanctions, Putin warned the member countries of the European Union (EU) that they would have to open accounts in rubles to pay for Russian gas.

While the United States banned the import of Russian oil and gas, the European bloc — which received around 40% of its gas supplies from Russia in 2021 — has maintained deliveries from Moscow.

Related  ECB bond purchases likely to end in Q3: Lagarde

Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda called on the rest of the EU to follow the example of the Baltic countries.

“As of this month, there is no longer Russian gas in Lithuania,” he wrote on Twitter.

“Years ago my country made decisions that today allow us to painlessly break the energy ties with the aggressor,” he added.

“If we can do it, the rest of Europe can do it too,” he said.


News and Images Source