The 2021 Nobel Prize for Literature goes to Tanzanian Abdulrazak Gurnah

The Nobel Prize for Literature heads south. The Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurnah was awarded this Thursday by the Nobel Academy in Stockholm. The author of Paradise and Adieu Zanzibar was distinguished for its description “uncompromising and full of compassion for the effects of colonialism and the plight of refugees in the gulf that separates cultures and continents”, said his representative.

His work moves away from “stereotypical descriptions and opens our eyes to a culturally diverse East Africa that is poorly known in many parts of the world“, explained the jury. Last year, the Nobel Prize for literature was awarded to the American poet Louise Glück.

Born in 1948 in Zanzibar, Abdulrazak Gurnah arrived as a refugee at the age of 18 in the United Kingdom, at a time when Muslim minorities were being persecuted. Having become a professor of English and post-colonial literature at the University of Canterbury, he wrote ten novels and several short stories, in English but also in Swahili, his mother tongue.

Related  Surprise! A great actor confirms that he will be in Ant-Man 3

His novel Paradise was a finalist for the Booker Prize in 1994. He was also a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize in 2005 and the Commonwealth Writers Prize in 2006. His latest novel, Afterlives, was released in September 2020 across the Channel. Due to the bankruptcy of the Galaade publishing house in 2017, its books are now unavailable in France. Suffice to say that his Nobel should allow him to be reissued quickly.

Logo LCI
defends the ambition of information
verified and accessible to all thanks to the income of the
advertising .

To help us maintain this free service you can “change your choice” and accept all cookies.

News and Images Source